SEAT cars beat GTs in the 12H Spa-Francorchamps

SEAT cars beat GTs in the 12H Spa-Francorchamps

The final round of the 24H Touring Car Endurance Series ended up with an amazing 1-2 finish for the SEAT León TCR cars that beat a swarm of more powerful and well prepared GTs.
Victory went to the Finnish trio of Kari-Pekka Laaksonen, Olli Kangas and Antti Buri at the wheel of the León run by LMS Racing together with Bas KoetenRacing. They covered 215 laps and a total distance of 1,505.86 kilometres on the Ardennes’ circuit. However, in what was a thrilling conclusion to the race, as Buri took the chequered flag in second position.
In fact, it was the Red SEAT of Rik Breukers and Ivo Breukers (son and father) that crossed the line first with a 22.6 second lead over the LMS Racing car. Unfortunately for the two Dutchmen, they incurred a 60-second penalty for an overtaking infringement and this dropped them to second, 37 seconds behind their rivals.
A Mercedes AMG GT4 finished third overall, while third place in the TCR class went to the Bas Koeten Racing SEAT León driven by Kristian Jepsen and Jan Sorensen that crossed the line in fourth position overall, one lap down.
A total of 16 TCR cars took the start of the race in a 42-car fieldand eventually the class’ title went to the Spanish trio team of Alba Cano Ramírez, José Manuel Pérez Aicart and Jurgent Smet in a Monlau Competición SEAT despite the fact that they only finished the Belgian enduro in eighth position. 

World Sporting Consulting LTD
22 Eastcheap, 2nd Floor
London EC3M 1EU - United Kingdom

WSC Operative Office: tel +41 91 9100590
, fax +41 91 9100599,
Fabio Ravaioli, Director of Communications: tel. +41 79 5501290,